What is an Embryo Transfer and its types? 

In embryo transfer, a narrow catheter is passed through your cervix to place one or two embryo's resulting from your IVF and ICSI treatment into your uterus for implantation.

What are the types of Embryo Transfer?

There are many different types of embryo transfers

1. Fresh Embryo Transfer

In this procedure, the mother's eggs are retrieved and fertilized in a lab, and then the embryo is implanted in the womb of the mother.

2. Frozen Embryo Transfer (FET)

Frozen embryo transfer involve transferring frozen embryos from a previous IVF cycle or donor egg cycle into a woman’s uterus after being thawed.

3. Cleavage Stage Embryo Transfer

As an embryo reaches the cleavage stage, its cells are dividing (cleaving) but its size does not increase.

4. Blastocyst Embryo Transfer

The blastocyst embryo transfer is a type of IVF treatment in which the blastocyst is transferred to the uterus after it has developed into a mature embryo.

5. Single Embryo Transfer (SET or eSET)

Elective single embryo transfer (eSET) involves selecting one embryo from a large number of available embryos and placing it in the fallopian tube or uterus.

6. Multiple Embryo Transfer

Transfer of multiple embryos simply refers to the transfer of multiple embryos at the same time. Multi-embryo transfer is possible in some cases, but there are strict guidelines.

Thanks for watching! If you want to know more about this story, click on the button given below.